Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

B!tchy Technician!....LOL!

I got a fellow (older) technician at work....he was testing thermal bimetallic poppers on a ricoh-savin fuser.
    The poppers are in series...he took the metal link strip out between the poppers to test continuity of each popper...mind you, these poppers are in series--not parallel!....he got pissy when I told him you don't have to remove the link strip to test each popper if you are going to test point to point on each popper!...he said: I'm gonna do it this way, since I've been a technician 15+ years ago...yadda, yadda, etc.!

I just shut up and didn't say any more! I'm the new guy on the block and supposedly "inexperienced"....SHEESH!

REACH FOR THE STARS!!!
    Konica Minolta Planetariums!
    https://www.konicaminolta.com/planet...gma/index.html

worker drone 250+ Posts

Re: B!tchy Technician!....LOL!

You are right but in his defense, you need to isolate the thermostats from the circuit or he would be measuring the resistance of the fusing lamp if one of the thermostats were open. By removing the junction strip, he did open the circuit I guess.

Quote Originally Posted by Coptech View Post
    You are right but in his defense, you need to isolate the thermostats from the circuit or he would be measuring the resistance of the fusing lamp if one of the thermostats were open. By removing the junction strip, he did open the circuit I guess.
    This is a Savin/Ricoh machine....as soon as you remove the fuser from the machine, the circuit is "open"...PERIOD!!!...LOL!...easiest is to test point-to-point....the continuity is only being measured between the probes and when the circuit is a series circuit, it's easy to test!....if it was an LCR (Inductance-Resistance-Capacitance) circuit which also has series parallel components such as in a passive speaker crossover of a 2-way or 3-way speaker or a power supply, you would have to isolate each component to get a true reading!

REACH FOR THE STARS!!!