PDA

View Full Version : KMBS is worlds different than what I remember

Custom Search

Miket2424
12-24-2010, 06:30 PM
I was a Konica tech until 05, and just recently I visited a KMBS machine to assess through my business. Man, has the serviceability gone downhill it seems. I tried to remove the paper feed rollers assy., and could not budge it. The Konica machines I remember had 1 screw holding them!

All I can say is, I feel for you KMBS techs out there.

ptrflrs
12-24-2010, 07:36 PM
i keep hearing konicas and minoltas before the buyout/merge were easier, i was on the minolta side so i thought after the merge that serviceability and tech friendlines went down because of konica but my buddy is on the konica side and says the opposite. i do remember some of the first hybrid low/mid volume b/w km machines were horrible to work on, though. regardless of ur point of view the newer km machines seem less friendly to work on. i just started working on ricohs about 3 years ago and find them more logical and easier to work on, newer mid and upper volume models, that is.

fixthecopier
12-24-2010, 10:54 PM
This is of course one techs opinion. The Konica Minolta machines made today are beefy. They do not just fall apart. I also work on Ricoh. The Ricoh is made to come apart real easy. I still like the Konica, seems to be better built.

mrwho
12-25-2010, 06:41 PM
I also work on both brands, although I'm more used to Konica machines. The "fall-apartability" depends on the models, but, to me, Ricoh wins on the lower and middle segments and KM wins on the upper segments.

On the "serviceability" side, curiously, I also consider Ricohs to be better on the lower and middle segments, and KM on the upper segment - but Ricoh is a close second on the upper segment when talking about servicing.

Stirton.M
12-26-2010, 10:29 AM