PDA

View Full Version : LADP Server, Active Directory, email addresses

Custom Search

blackcat4866
10-05-2007, 02:15 AM
Can anyone explain this down to me? I have been a mechanic for many years, but this network crap leaves me befuddled. I can manage to load drivers, but not much further.

This foreign accented customer who I can barely understand when he speaks English starts using words like 'LDAP Server', 'Active Directory', and 'email addresses'. Those were the only words that I could make out, and not understand.

I have no clue what this was about. If it helps this was on a Copystar CS-C4035E MFP.

Copier_Guy
10-05-2007, 03:59 AM
He was talking about management of the network. Active Directory uses a Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) which keeps track of the names of objects and organizational units within a network. Active Directory is the working Scheme of a network to put it in simple terms. Objects, rights and permissions can be controlled and manipulated centrally across a vast LAN or WAN (NETWORK) using Active Directory. The Printer is an object on the network, so it is subject to the "Laws" that are written for that particular Network. We, as techs, have to understand this a little in order to determine if the Printer is the problem or the Network is the problem. You get problems where 1 person can't print, but everyone else can and it can be a pretty complex problem, or a simple one. Knowing a little about this stuff helps you to communicate with the Administrators better to solve these kinds of problems. We know the printers and they know the Network. They have no clue in most cases how to set these printers up, until we show them. We have to know a little in order to consult them to that end.

I hope that helped and I didn't just sound like I was rambling.:D

Happy Hunting

P.S.

Email Addresses on these machines are used to Push Scans through, rather than Pull them through.