PDA

View Full Version : Teach me to "Network printers and copiers"

Custom Search

Rigger
01-03-2008, 04:03 PM
I have been servicing copiers for 25 years and I am very good with computers. I just haven't got down to business with hooking up copiers to the customer's network. Is there a shortcut for learning the procedure or a generic class I can take to bypass all the bull and just learn the "good stuff"?
:confused:
Rigger

lkrsardis
01-03-2008, 04:34 PM
i tried to add a pdf attachment but couldnt.sen me your email and i"ll send it to you.
keith

CanonHPTech
01-03-2008, 11:13 PM
Hello, sir. Good luck. It sounds like you are on the right track if you enjoy working on/working with computers. I have been on the IT/Networking side for longer then I have been working on copiers. I do not know of any general information outside of good cables, a good IP address, and the PING and IPCONFIG commands. If the previous poster has something more geared towards copier networking, I would also be very interested.

My issue is that the company I work for is not very IT oriented and therfore does not allow us to do to much on a customers network/workstation- however, I have been running into customer after customer who are just clueless and/or does not want to pay an IT support firm to manage their network or servers, so they expect me, also the guy who empties there waste toner, to basically give them a server and router (because I carry these in my car trunk, hah) and set them up a network, then hook up their copier on this network, then setup scan-to-email... because they pay my company 150-300 bucks a month for a service contract and they rather not pay an IT professional the 85-150 per hour for their advice/expertise.

I guess I really can't complain too much, I do enjoy learning something new everyday. Good luck sir.

lkrsardis
01-03-2008, 11:26 PM
i"ve got some stuff but i can"t seem to get attatchments to work.
Please help cause i are ignorant!!!
keith.

Copier_Guy