Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Service Manager 1,000+ Posts
    Scary new Reliability specifically Bizhubs

I have been doing this job for about 10 years and have never questioned my job security until recently.

The new Bizhub 4 series (admittedly after some firmware fixes) are THE most rock solid low maintenance machines I have seen since the days of the Kyocera Falcons.

I have very good networking, troubleshooting and people skills so I don't consider myself low-hanging fruit in the company, but I honestly think companies moving forward are going to need less techs.

My essential tools of the trade are down to screwdriver, flat blade, clamps and cleaning supplies.

No more rebuilding fusers or IUs. Feed rollers are a breeze. And PM lights turned off by default.

The old adage of "there's always going to be need for xy&z" will always be true but not as much as before.

By the way, this is coming from several months of a steady decline in service calls as old equipment has been replaced so I am not speaking out of school.

Re: Scary new Reliability specifically Bizhubs

Jip your right. after a lot of upgrades in the field we have the same amount of machines and service calls have died down. We had a meeting in the office this week about this topic. Now i must gear up with added value option to move over to billable IT hours. So My job is to find ways to do this.

First thing is to get CS remote care running with Vcare server to be able to pitch that for sales. Then find useful ways to integrate the LK's like 101,103... to start with. Use and prove the security functions. Also to create a better internal infrastructure by setting up 2 local servers. And to engage in IT consultation.

So the two sides finally integrates. This means less of us, higher skill level, more working hours and better money at the end of the day.

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by JR2ALTA View Post