Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Promotion?

Technician

Promotion?

Not sure if this is in the correct topic but oh well. Recently at the dealership I work for I was basically told that field service was my next move up. Currently I am a shop tech, although it gets old looking at the same 4 walls everyday shop life is all I have known. Is the grass greener on the other side? What should I be looking out for?. I'm just looking for insight as it's going to happen.

Thanks

Re: Promotion?

get out of the office and see the rest of the world, couldn't stand going back to an office tech.

just remember the following:

get ur paperwork organised, its easily left to get out of control especially if you have a company car
    (quick tip if your a field service tech ask for a company car as part of your package) or preferably on top aswell as a phone

your phone camera is your friend, take photos of almost everything, serial numbers counts, error codes, etc

You will be less likely to knock off right on 5.30 so discuss overtime / time in lieu (on a logged system) beware the time in lieu black hole.......log it. this of course depends on your boss.

get a good complete tool kit, it may not be a quick trip back to the office for the one thing you need.

Agreements on petty cash / fuel cards / Reimbursement are also good to consider.

hope that helps
    Can you fix it........we can fix anything its just how many parts do u wanna pay for

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    Promotion?

I know it's hard to believe, but I have not always been a people person. You cannot but help but develop some people skills if you tossed into that situation 5 or 6 times a day. Always remember that no matter how unpleasant any situation is, you can probably last an hour. =^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.