Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 250+ Posts

New business - need advice

Hi guys. So, i started my own business servicing printers and copiers. I have about 9-10 years of experience and can handle the majority of equipment that is given to me. I am located in a town of aproximately 15000 people and i am kinda the only tech in this area with experience in servicing printers and copiers. I kindly ask you for any good advice for me. I read all the topics about business and i found a lot of great info there. But, my main guestion is this : how do you advertise this business? I mean, i have the lowest prices, the best service and i am true to the client. I am fair, i don't lie and my word is my most important asset. So, i was thinking :
    1. Making flyers and passing them to office's who have this equipment.
    2. Sponsored advertising on facebook.

I know that i can help a lot of people in my area. And, what is an aproximate timeline for a business like this to grow? For those of you who are self employed, how much time did you need for your business to make decent profits? Any good advice can help me now and i would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: New business - need advice

Befriend a local IT company. You recommend their services and they recommend yours.

Service Manager 2,500+ Posts

Get a website that is hosted so you stay on 1st page of google, bing, etc. Also make sure the hosting company has you on social media, facebook, etc.

The reason I say to have it hosted is their job is to constantly check analytics, keywords, etc. and keep you on first page. This way when someone in your town or surrounding area types in "copier or printer" repair you will come up. Many of these hosting companies will also design the website for free.

Flyers aren't a bad idea if you have the time. I would put a coupon on the flyer. When I first started I offered 1st service call free just to get my foot in the door.

Best of luck