&s=9ef3e4e3668eda2e66da29f68f3acd80" />
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
    Printer
    Quote Originally Posted by avicarmi View Post
    I highly recommended that we get a maint contract, and if we do not want to, we should just get a plain color printer, but both the owner and the CFO overruled me... They want to "control their costs".

it is their money after all.

-avi
    I'm just a user not a tech, but I think they are misguided if they think not getting a service contract is going to control their costs. The whole point of a service contract from a user-perspective is that your costs are controlled. Without one, you have a lower price until somerthing goes wrong (unless you just don't make many prints or don't need great quality so can live with not fixing things.) If you need quality and quantity on the machine, without a service contract you have to dread the unexpected costs or simply early replacement of the machine at some point when anything minor or major breaks. Will it be in 3 years or 3 months when the first little part that you don't have and can't get starts to perform oddly?

gwalters
    AVI,

I must commend you for posting the history of your transaction - waving your dirty laundry out like that is exceptional, even in the age of "internet anonymity"

Congratulations should also be extended to your "boss" and CFO - for sheltering a few thousand dollars at year end.

Unfortunately, this is as far as the congrats will go...I personally have not been involved with a "simple" transaction like this for over a year now, and I find myself even more relieved after witnessing your company's decision process - indeed, I even feel a little sorry for you.

Put aside manufacturer representations, "dual scan" capabilities, service, output quality or even first copy out times(gag) - allowing us to view your internal PROCESS is invaluable.

Your company just helped commoditize an industry.

You say: