Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mdcrazy

Question Purchase decision help? Best 35-45 ppm?

I am in the process of getting quotes to replace our OCE' im3511 printers. I have come here to search and get an industry feel for what is a garbage machine vs a good quality machine. To give you a little background I am a network analyst tasked with getting a new lease on printers and service. We have been with OCE for 6 years which the IM3511's are Sharp AR-M355N. The support is horrible. We call in to Brazil or something and then wait anywhere from 4 hours to 2 days for a tech to come out. Any ways here are my questions:
    1. Are sharps generally good and we just have bad service?
    2. We are getting quotes for Toshiba, Canon, Savin and Sharp. Market leader is Canon from what I am reading. Which ones are the most reliable? We are looking for mid range 35-45 ppm MFD.
    3. I saw a post on the worst copier page here that said Toshiba E-Studio's are insults to the word $%it. Is this true?
    4. I am finding that every sales person wants a baseline of what we are paying now which I find strange but maybe this is standard practice on lease buyouts. Is this the case?

Thanks for any help.

School District Tech 500+ Posts schooltech's Avatar
    Generally speaking, the majority of machines, across all manufacturers, are pretty good. Of course, the level of service will DRAMATICALLY affect the overall reliability and satisfaction for the end user.

I am a Ricoh guy, but do have some Sharp machines in my fleet. I would go to each thread on this site that represents the particular manufacturers and ask those techs what they think. I do know that the newer MX series Sharp machines are good boxes.

If you can find a good support team for your machine, they'll keep the service aspect of the machine transparent, and that is a good thing for you.