Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Technician

Konica Minolta or Kyocera dealer?

hello to all
    I've been working for a Konica Minolta dealer for 5 years, but since I also do webdesign, repair computers, hardware and software, i started my own business.
    So far I only sold Brother 8460 and Konica Minolta 163/211 for small business. Fortunately I kept growing and need to choose what to do next. I know the KM machines very well, but there are already 3 dealers in my area, and only one Kyocera. I only saw few of them kyocera working, the new Task alfa seems to me pretty the same as bizhub.
    My question is: should I try with the Konica Minolta or consider the Kyocera? I've been asked for 10 B/W A3 copiers and 2 Color Ones for now, but since this is a very important bank here in Italy, they will def ask for more.

tansk for your time and replies

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

Firstly, I don't have any experience with Konica Minolta. I have worked with Mita, Sharp, Canon, Ricoh, Brother, Samsung, HP, Copystar/Kyocera Mita, and others.

Of all the machines I've worked on Copystar, Canon, & Ricoh were the lowest maintenance, and the longest intervals between service calls. Regarding cost of operation, Copystar is the least expensive to operate & maintain.

There's another factor that must be worked into your decision though. When I discuss this with customers I use an automotive metaphor. If you were to buy any automobile in let's say 1910, you would be impressed by a top speed of 35 mph and a lifespan of 40,000 miles. If you were to buy any automobile in let's say 2010, you would be impressed with a top speed of 135 mph and a lifespan of 240,000 miles.

My point is that technological improvements evenly raise expectations on all machines of the same type equally, and the incremental differences between manufacturers in the same year technologically are relatively insignificant.