Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tech Training

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Tech Training

reading some of the technical posts, I sometimes wonder if the state of technical training is as good as the old days.
    When I first started as a technician I remember having to study and pass a precourse test before I was even allowed access to the class room course. this was in the days before internet training. and the first training class I took was for a 12 cpm. the course lasted for a week, with a closed book written ( not multiple choice) test and a practicle fault finding test. My first color course was over 2 weeks, the first week was color theory and then the machine service course.

Now techs have on-line training with multiple choice test at the end. I have seen some techs do the whole course online in under 2 hours. So just because some techs have the certificate, does that make them a good experienced tech? Some techs can do these courses easily but when it comes to common sense in fault finding are clueless?

my personal view is the tech today has it easier where training is concerned and the industry is poorer for it.

What' s your opinion?
    Sorry folks, reputation removed by Just Manuals, because he's a sad little wanker

East Coast Imaging 2,500+ Posts
    Tech Training

These days not much as change except online courses. You still must take a placement course (online course) to get into class. The courses got a little more harder thru the years. But then again I'm speaking on the vendor that I'm trained for.
    Canon Copier Repair Service. Sales, Parts & Toner. NYC/NJ area. Contact:East Coast Imaging Solutions,LLC

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    Tech Training