Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    Contract pricing for large production

Contract pricing for large production

I have been keeping my print shop running for the last 2 years with my volume starting out at 50K, now up to 4 million per month.

I currently have 7 machines, 2 KM 920s, 2 KM 7272, 2 7255, and 1 KM 600.

My main client does about 90% of my black and white volume, above 4 million is just ONE CLIENT. I print duplex mail merge self mailers, where flatness is needed so when we fold and glue them, they don't give the folder issues.

So we are moving to get all KM 920s.... I have 2 more on order in storage, just waiting to put into service.

I have worked the cost every which way, currently i am at just over .0054 a click at 3.95 million last month, the issue that i am having is every way i figure it out, my dealer is making about 50% of my monthly bill.

If any one who is a INDEPENDENT want to advise me if he is making TOO much money, please let me know. I want him to make at least 4K-5K, but bills last month were around 22,000. Where even if 10K were parts, and 3K was his tech, which only works my account around 20 hours a week.

Can someone tell me what to think, I like the company, and the owner, but again, its all about dollars and sense - and my client is hitting harder times, since the economy. Only reason he just didnt leave me is I am under contract with my client for another 6 months, then they may walk, but i dont think there is a happy median where we all make money.

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    There's actually not a simple answer to your question. So I'll respond on various scenarios. I'll be perfectly honest and blunt and these responses will reflect my opinion as to what I believe to be accurate and true most of the time...