Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Trusted Tech 50+ Posts Scijohn23's Avatar

Question Techs to Side Dealers

I have been working with copiers in one way or another for about 7 years now. I have been well traveled and currently working on the east coast. In my time I have seen respectable copiers dealers actually run out of business and closed their doors because a couple of Techs and a Service Manager sometimes started doing " A lot of side work". When I say respectable dealer I mean companies with 20 to 30 Employess and about a 60 mile coverage area. Has this crossed a lot of technicians minds, or any of you actually done this? Or does the company you work for have a means of keeping you in check persay? Or does your company go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied with your work and pay arrangments, keeping you perfectly happy? For those that have, did you see success?

OMD-227
    If you double-cross the company you work for, you pretty much deserve whatever punishment comes your way.

If you work hard, keep improving and never letting anyone down, your company should do whatever is needed to keep you, as you should be seen as an asset to the place. Those who do side-jobs are only hurting the company they work for, and in the end, their own back-pocket.

Never done it, never will. Besides that, 99.9% of the machines I have ever worked on have been on a full service contract. No service charges at all.