Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

Technician commissions for "Leads"

Former technician here that has been in sales the past 12 years.

Technician goes out on a service call at one of my largest multi-machine, multi location accounts. (Keep in mind this is an account I've been handling for many many years and that buys everything from me.) Office manager asks the technician to have me give him a call regarding replacing the machine. Instead of giving me a call and passing along the message, technician turns it in as a "Lead".

The company's main office was already considering upgrading the equipment in the main office. When I got back together with the owner of the company we decided to rotate the old machine from the main office out to this other office and retire the machine in that location.

Now the technician is expecting a chunk of my small commission I made on the deal for the "Lead" he turned in.

I've got to call BS on this one. Passing along a phone message is not a "Lead". Besides that its one of my best clients and one of our company's oldest accounts.

What do you guys think?

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: Technician commissions for "Leads"

How long have you been "talking" to client? Tech made sale happen. Don't get me wrong here... It sounds like you and your techs take care of this company, that's why they stay with you. How many have you placed without giving a little commission?

Technician