Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Technician

In need of service department policy and procedures

I have been hired on as a service manager and my first task is to put in place a policy and procedure manual for doing service calls and all aspects ofthe service department. I am wanting to get copies of other companies policies so I can use it as a starting point. If you can email me a copy of what you use I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Service Manager 250+ Posts Hemlock's Avatar

Re: In need of service department policy and procedures

It's a patently bad idea to do something just because everyone else is doing it.

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts

How much are you willing to spend?

Gregg

Not starting off good if your using someone else's rules and regulation list.

Field Supervisor 1,000+ Posts

As a service manager, I would be going to my technicians and getting their input.

We don't have a policy on it written in stone, but we all adhere to what we agreed on being a minimum service for each call. Basically this was decided by all of our techs sitting down and thinking about it properly instead of one person making the decision.

If you do it that way, your techs are more likely to adhere to the policy.
    Please don't ask me for firmware or service manuals as refusal often offends.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by TheOwl View Post
    As a service manager, I would be going to my technicians and getting their input.

We don't have a policy on it written in stone, but we all adhere to what we agreed on being a minimum service for each call. Basically this was decided by all of our techs sitting down and thinking about it properly instead of one person making the decision.

If you do it that way, your techs are more likely to adhere to the policy.