Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mobileprinter

Newbie asking for advice

Hi everyone,

I am just starting out as an independent service technician (office equipment such as printers, scanners etc) and will concentrate on urgent / short notice requests.

Doing my training right now, but so much to learn and would highly appreciate any pointers of what are the most common faults / jobs / works you should expect at the average office? I expect most of the work will be on larger office business printers (HP and Lexmark).

Thx in advance for helping a newbie :-)

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts kingarthur's Avatar

Re: Newbie asking for advice

first of all good luck...it might have been better to introduce yourself in the "newbie" section though

think you might find it a bit difficult to concentrate on "urgent/short notice requests"....life isn't that easy...as for what to expect in the average office, mainly operators who haven't got a clue what they are doing, badly loaded paper/consumables & poorly located machines....or machines that are on their last legs, that the customer expects you to perform a miracle by resurrecting them for little or no money....as i said before...good luck
    Tip for the day; Treat every problem as your dog would.....If you cant eat it or f*ck it....then p*ss on it & walk away...

Technician 500+ Posts

Are you just going to sale printers as well? Are you doing copiers as well? I'm thinking if we know more about what you will be doing, we may be able to give you an accurate picture. Let us know. Also, have you been in this business prior to now?

Mobileprinter

Hi CopiMan,
    Thanks for the feedback. I won't be selling printers. Planning on "just" doing "light" / urgent printer and other office equipment repair. I will advertise a really short response time, so if their usual person can't make it, I can step in. I have had an indication that there is a market for this around me :-)