Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Service Manager 1,000+ Posts femaster's Avatar

Question Need advice on old Canon IR3300; dead battery? NVRAM problem?

First, I'd like to state the I am NOT a Canon copier tech. I was a Ricoh tech for 7 years, and have been a Kinoca Minolta tech for just under 4 years now, so I am familiar with copier operation and repair, just not specific to to the Canon brand.

I'm trying to bring to life an old Canon IR3300 with network/print/scan capabilities. I don't know that history of the machine, but it only has just over 160K on it. It had poor output quality, so I replaced the drum and ran the drum initialization (or whatever Canon's term is). Everything is looking good there, but it has other, technical issues.

What I am experiencing is, the copier continuously looses it's settings if it is off for more than a couple days. Is there some sort of battery that keeps everything backed up? What happens is, all settings are gone, time and date are messed up, network information is gone, and it prompts for a Department ID and Password despite there being none programmed into the copier. Every time this happens, I must go into service mode and run the PWD-CLR to clear out the administrator password. This seems to turn off the Department ID garbage (prompt is gone, and indicates that it is OFF in setup), and them I have to reprogram everything so that it works again; at least until it is powered down for a day or two.

Any advice on where to look or what to do to track down this very irritating problem?

Thanks!
    A Ricoh Service Tech for 7 year. A Konica Minolta Service Tech for 7 years. Now, KM service manager for 3 years.
    My Ricoh knowledge is slowly dwindling away at this point. Many things have been lost to time...

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts
    Need advice on old Canon IR3300; dead battery? NVRAM problem?

Re: Need advice on old Canon IR3300; dead battery? NVRAM problem?