Technician 500+ Posts

Hard Drive replacement

First of all I am new to the Canon product. I have worked on other manufactures and found that any hard drive would work despite the fact that the manufacture said you must use theirs. Having said that, can any hdd be used on the Canons? I have read a few posts but just got confused. Probably because I'm new to the product.

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts
    Hard Drive replacement

Re: Hard Drive replacement

Quote Originally Posted by copiman View Post
    First of all I am new to the Canon product. I have worked on other manufactures and found that any hard drive would work despite the fact that the manufacture said you must use theirs. Having said that, can any hdd be used on the Canons? I have read a few posts but just got confused. Probably because I'm new to the product.

If the Canon SST HDFormat program does not recognize the HDD u will not be able to format and load in the firmware.

The newer HDFormat files are encrypted, so u are not able to modify the HD Descriptor file (which would recognize the HDD being used.
    **Knowledge is time consuming, exhausting and costly for a trained Tech.**

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts
    Hard Drive replacement

HDD Not Found Message.

When attempting to format a hard drive in a Canon
    ImageRUNNER you receive a message from the
    SST advising that theHDD cannot be found in the drives file.

(Service Support Tool) (Hard Disk Drive)
    HDD Descriptor File
    This is the file which contains the descriptor information for each HDD registered fot he Canon model. The naming of these files is important to understand as you will need to track these files down when you want to format non-standard HDD's.
    iRModel: This will be the model designation for the unit. iR2200 for example. iRXXXX files are encrypted.
    XX: A double X appears in this position for all such files.