Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    kewlice33

Putting up a copy center using Canon copiers. Advise needed.

Hello everyone!

I'm new to this site and has zero knowledge when it comes to copier troubleshooting. It has been our family business to run a copy center even though we, the family owners, have very little knowledge when it comes to copier troubleshooting. Simply put, we are business owners who run copy centers with our own paid technicians.

Now, it's my time to establish my own copy center. My initial plan is to use 2 units of Canon IR6000 OR 1 unit of Canon IR6000 and 2 units of Canon NP6050. Unfortunately, I am limited with these two models. Considering that I have no background whatsoever in repairing copiers, what could you advise a business owner like me in starting this kind of business. My father was once a successful business owner running a copy center, though he doesn't have enough knowledge on copiers. Any advise is much appreciated.

P.S. I'm not sure if this is the proper forum but I would also be utilizing a Risograph RP 3100. Any feedback about this machine?

Self Employed 1,000+ Posts D_L_P's Avatar
    2 IR's vs 1 IR and 2NP's? If you took the covers off you'd have a hard time telling them apart but there are important differences. You can expect about 80-100k clicks between calls for a NP6050, but an IR6000 can average 200-300k clicks between calls, even going 500k from one web to another isn't uncommon.
    The NP6050 isn't going to have the copy quality the IR6000 has.

Option 1 gives you better copy quality and reliability, but I wouldn't try and make more then 250k per copier per month.
    Option 2 gives you more production capability, but expect more service calls and have a less critical eye for copy quality.