Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts

IR2200 tray 2 lift problems

I've got an IR2200 that seems to be overdriving. Basically it starts lifting as normal, reaches the top, then clicks back down and continues driving back up. It does that several times until the machine is finished it's power up sequence. When you try to print out of tray 1, tray 1 works wonderfully but tray 2 continues trying to lift. If tray 2 is not in the machine then it just clangs on the bottom of the machine.

I've looked through the manual and can't find any instructions for the timing of the cams and other gears in the lift assy. I'll also admit that I'm a bit of a novice on Canons. I've replaced the PCB thinking the sensor on the board was bad causing it to never see the flag. Nothing appears broken, although I'm about to go through it with the parts manual to verify that.

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

Re: IR2200 tray 2 lift problems

Broken sector gear. Also known as the biggest PITA to do on a low end imagerunner. What's happening is as the gear lifts and cycles it has a couple broken teeth that can never quite get the tray high enough.
    see that video it at least shows you what's going on and how to fix it. Not in english though sorry.

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Well I'm glad I talked my service manager into letting me bring that machine into a shop and getting the customer a loaner. That one may drive me to drinking again. I'll check that gear and let you know if that is it.

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

The gear actually looks like it's in good shape. I'm not seeing any teeth missing. In this case are the teeth always missing or is there a chance of them being worn down?

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

There are actually several things that can fail on those PF units:

1) The leaf spring that starts the rotation of the sector lift gear becomes weak and cracks (350k copies). (part # FB4-5349-000)