Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Technician

Question Need to Source Parts and Firmware for imageRUNNER Advance C5045

I'm a longtime lover of Canon products. At my old firm I helped maintain our Canon imageRUNNER Advance machine. I'm a solo attorney now (but also a computer geek and engineer).

I got a deal on a used Canon imageRUNNER Advance C5045. Unfortunately, its prior owner unceremoniously removed the hard drive and in the process also removed the hard drive bracket (part #FC8-5201), the grounding tab, and the hard drive caddy (the part that connects the hard drive to the bracket).

I've been able to source the bracket, but can't find a part number in the service manual for the other two parts or even a part number! Does anybody have an idea beyond just leaving the hard drive to kind of dangle inside for this?

Also, I've got the SST v.4.63E, however I can't find a way to get the firmware for this unit. The local dealers only answer is to buy the entire hard drive upgrade replacement kit, which is insanely expensive for a small laptop hard drive and a piece of stamped metal bracket. I've offered to pay them to come just do the firmware part, but they (a) refuse unless I buy the whole shebang and (b) only do service calls when I'm at my other job and not at my home office.

Does anybody have an idea how to overcome these problems?

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts
    Need to Source Parts and Firmware for imageRUNNER Advance C5045

Re: Need to Source Parts and Firmware for imageRUNNER Advance C5045

Quote Originally Posted by hydrosam View Post
    I'm a longtime lover of Canon products. At my old firm I helped maintain our Canon imageRUNNER Advance machine. I'm a solo attorney now (but also a computer geek and engineer).