Thread: Dropbox

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Dropbox

During a recent install a customer asked if they could scan from their new mfp (Sharp mx-5141n) to their dropbox account. A coworker of the customer chimed in and shot down the idea before I could answer. To be honest, I have no experience with dropbox and only recently opened an account to learn more.

With the time I have spent playing with dropbox I still have not found a way to scan directly from the mfp to the dropbox account. It looks like I can scan to a pc which is linked to a dropbox account. In the event that workstation is not online or being a laptop is out of the office that idea may not work.

Any ideas?

Service Manager 2,500+ Posts rthonpm's Avatar

Re: Dropbox

There's no direct way unless there's a built-in application for the MFP that grants it access. The closest thing to a cloud solution I've found is scan to email using an Evernote email address. Every user is granted an email address that will allow them to email files to their account.

If there was a way of scanning directly, I'd be hesitant to set it up without knowing what the customer's policy on a third party storage service is. A lot of companies are just beginning to realise how much of their information is sitting on a server somewhere outside of their control, or their security. After all, the last thing you want to do is set that up and then find out that someone has been using it to store internal company files or some kind of sensitive information that shouldn't be outside of the company's network.

Cannot be done, uploads are limited to their application and website. By scanning to a folder and having that sync in the application is the only way. It would be nice if Dropbox supported FTP, but they don't.

Field Supervisor 2,500+ Posts

Same is true with Google Drive..for now, you must scan to a workstation folder that is synched with Google Drive. Emujo
    Last edited by emujo; 04-22-2014 at 09:20 PM.