Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CROSSOVER CABLE

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    CROSSOVER CABLE

CROSSOVER CABLE

HI, I need to test a network printer I`m having problems with.I want to connect my laptop to printer with crossover as a way to troubleshoot ,to see if problem is printer or network.I have never used one before.I tried to do some research but am a little confused.I know one end goes inti my laptop,where do I connect the other side and will my laptop prompt me as to how to set up or do I need further instructions. Thanks Andy

Re: CROSSOVER CABLE

With a crossover cable one end goes into the ethernet of the device and the other into the ethernet of the PC.

Leave the cable unplugged first. If the device has a static IP address, 192.168.1.200 with subnet 255.255.255.0 for example, then your PC should be set to a static IP on the same range and subnet, 192.168.1.201 with subnet 255.255.255.0 for example. It doesn't matter what the PC IP address is, as long as it is different, the subnet needs to be the same.

Assuming you are using Windows, you will need to assign the IP in Control Panel > Network & Sharing > Change adapter settings > Right click local ethernet > Properties > Double click Internet Protocol Version 4 > Tick Use the following IP address > Enter an IP that is different to the device but on the same range, and the same subnet. Leave the Default gateway and Preferred DNS settings empty.

If the device is on DHCP, this will need to be turned off and a temporary static IP entered instead.

When all entered then plug in the cable, any problems with the connection you may have an incorrect or damaged cable or incorrect IP settings on either device or PC.

Geek Extraordinaire 2,500+ Posts KenB's Avatar

Most newer PCs will auto-sense that the network port is connected directly to another node (in this case the MFP or printer), and automatically adjust for it.

I know that the notebooks I've had over the past 7 or 8 years did.