Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Toshiba E-studio 2050c developer roller void.

Hi, i am a fairly new copier tech. I have been working on a Toshiba e-studio 2050c for about a week now. I have been going through it very thoroughly trying to make it as close to perfect as i can get it.One problem i ran in to that i cannot seem to figure out is a void on the black developer roller,which is causing a white line when i try to print in black and white. The density of the black copy is very light. I have replaced the developer material, and replaced the roller a few different times with extra rollers i had. When i take the developer unit out i can visibly see a void where the material is not covering. Any advice i can get on the topic will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

Re: Toshiba E-studio 2050c developer roller void.

It is not uncommon to get foreign matter under the doctor blade, blocking the flow of developer on the mag roller. I call it "foreign matter" because even when you get it in you fingers, you can't really tell what it is. The toner bath disguises whatever it is.

Let's assume that it's a paper lint bunny. What you need is a thick piece of mylar cut like this:

Mylar Doctor Blade Cleaner.JPG

Insert the mylar from the outside of the developing unit, along the bottom side of the mag roller, about 25mm to the front of the obstruction. Slip the mylar across until the hook is lined up with the obstruction. Roll the mag roller upward while pulling the mylar out. The obstruction will follow the mylar out. Turn very slowly, so that you can identify the obstruction, and get it away from the mag roller. Sometimes it takes a few tries to get it. It's more effective if the developing unit is full. You can see where to position the mylar.

Give it a try. Mylar works better than a business card. I have inadvertently left the corner of a business card inside a developing unit, making the problem worse. =^..^=