Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

ZipRip UC6 went crazy

Anyone here familiar with a ZipRip UC 6 on a service level?
    Our external one is hooked up to the Ricoh JP8000 and started one day to tell us it is not connected (after the jobs got spooled). As I am no Windows expert and the Scanner seems to produce acceptable results, I never started to dig into the problem deeply. But here seems to be the right place for a lot of knowledge, so maybe somebody likes to help me to start searching for the problems?

I suspect the computer itselve, as we already exchanged all the Electrolytic capacitors at the PCB a few years ago. But perhaps it is just a dump Win problem?

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

Re: ZipRip UC6 went crazy

Our ZipRip is still out of order. If someone with hig knowledge is around, please speak up. I still didnīt start to care about it, and make the recent stuff with the scanner. But it would be cool to have the RIP online again one day.

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

Is there really nobody with some ZipRip UC6 knowledge on board? If would know what the "custom board" at the ZipRip is doing exactly I could start to search for another similar computer that may be a replacement for the recent one, and switch all the cards and PCI devices.

Not a service manager 2,500+ Posts Iowatech's Avatar

For what it is worth, I'll take a guess. But take it for what it is worth.
    It sounds like the user of that machine recently upgraded their version of the Windows operating system. For many years, Windows was the object of derision for all the security attacks that were possible, so beginning with Windows 8 and even moreso with Windows 10, Microsoft got rid of a huge amount of components which could cause such problems.
    Unfortunately, older machines were built to use older versions of Windows, so they can no longer cope without a firmware upgrade or a new driver. So that would be your best course of action.