Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Technician

Buying used Riso...need advice

Looking to buy a used Riso for my business. I'm completely new to Risographs. I'm wondering what I should look for in a used machine.
    I was wondering what models I should look for and what red flags to watch out for.

What is a good copy/master count for a used machine?
    What models have the best used parts/drums/colors out there?
    What machines are easiest to hook up to my computer (mac running OS 10.x)

thanks!

Field Supervisor 1,000+ Posts RRodgers's Avatar

Re: Buying used Riso...need advice

Quote Originally Posted by pttrnlanguage View Post
    Looking to buy a used Riso for my business. I'm completely new to Risographs. I'm wondering what I should look for in a used machine.
    I was wondering what models I should look for and what red flags to watch out for.

What is a good copy/master count for a used machine?
    What models have the best used parts/drums/colors out there?
    What machines are easiest to hook up to my computer (mac running OS 10.x)

thanks!
    You could probably get an RP for fairly cheap and I believe parts are still available. I can't remember if they came with a nic or not. I believe they did. I would say GR, but getting it to print is a pain and parts are tougher to find. Still great tank of a machine. RN's had lots of problems with master disposal, and I don't think they came print ready.

Or maybe an RZ. I believe those are newer than the RP's but I think (not sure cuz I kinda stopped working on them back in the RP days) that they started to go cheap on making them and the RZ's had a lot more plastic parts and or gears. (could be wrong) but I'd be willing to bet that those would probably come print ready and real easy to get parts for.
    $.02