Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    mhutch

Parts for Riso brand Risograph GR3770

I am thinking of buying a GR3770 and wondered if anyone knows of a source to buy parts (not ink or masters)? Our local Riso dealer stated that parts are no longer available. Any help would be appreciated.

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts
    I have been working on the RISO line since 1996, and was with RISO US (Danvers MA) until they shut down their Georgia / Atlanta offices in 2005. I have RISO clients that came over with me and several GR3770's. That said - the GR line is a very durable and robust line of RISO duplicators, mechanical rather than electronic and I have some that are pushing 10 million copies (Sun Printing, Hartwell GA) with just occasional maintenance.

Before purchasing the unit, run several hundred 11x17 20 lb bond paper copies through the unit to properly shake it out to make sure that the feed clutch, second paper feed (timing and guide roller), pressure assembly (pressure solenoid and pressure roller) and paper exit / suction assembly (another clutch and one-way gear/bearing) get to heavy operation mode / temperature. Sometimes misfeeds and jams do not take place until the units are run several hundred clicks.

Also burn dark 11x17 master and look for tiny lines less that a mm running vertically (top to bottom). This could be an indication of a Thermal Print Head issue and $$$$$$.

As far as parts go - the basic parts (stripper pads, feed tires, timing and guide rollers, solenoids, pressure rollers, etc) are still available and some are used on several lines of RISO products - RC, RA, GR, and FR. The problem is that the electronic parts (TPH's, Scanners and Boards) are not available.... new. A note - RISO parts are expensive from RISO or their authorized dealerships - there is a three tier pricing structure and this being a discountiued line, you will be at the top suggested retail pricing. Let me know if you need parts numbers or an idea of prices when / if you start pricing.