Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Technician

RISO GR 1700 Ink

Just started using a RISO GR 1700 to make small artist books. The ink seems to take a considerable time to dry. Maybe up to 10 mins per sheet. Is this unusual. Could this be a sign of bad/old ink?

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts
    What paper are you using?

Technician
    Not sure of the brand but it's an uncoated sheet. 100# cover.

Old Retired IKON Drudge
    Kevin, as soon as you said 100# cover stock, the bells went off. I am an old Priport tech who just messed with Risos, but I can tell you that stock will take too long to dry. The best thing for heavy stock is 180# vellum which has more tooth and absorbs the ink a bit better. Run the machine at the slowest speed, ink lightly, set skip feed to max if you can.

On another note, I don't suppose you know Jamie Tomaino, the modified racer from Neptune?

Doc

Technician
    Hey thanks. I'll give that a whirl. Don't know Jamie Tomaino. I do have a friends who are good friends with a Tomaino family around here, but I believe they're architects, not racers. But maybe related?

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts
    Glad your problem is solved with stock

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DocF View Post
    Kevin, as soon as you said 100# cover stock, the bells went off. I am an old Priport tech who just messed with Risos, but I can tell you that stock will take too long to dry. The best thing for heavy stock is 180# vellum which has more tooth and absorbs the ink a bit better. Run the machine at the slowest speed, ink lightly, set skip feed to max if you can.

On another note, I don't suppose you know Jamie Tomaino, the modified racer from Neptune?

Doc
    I am not sure about the priports (I only work on the RISO and Duplo duplicators), but with a RISO to put down less ink run it faster. The shorter amount of time the paper is against the drum / cylinder the less time there for ink to be absorbed into the paper.