Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy RISO RP Drum locking issue

Hello! I have a Risograph RP 3500. My color drum got stuck in the machine, but I was able to pull it out with the drum unlocking code in test mode and a little bit of force. I cannot insert another drum; the drum goes almost all the way in and then stops up against something. The drum locking / unlocking in test mode does nothing to help. When the machine is turned on, it just says to insert a drum. I'm not really sure what to do or if there is another way to have the machine reset everything in its drum chamber to a normal position. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated; I'm new to the RISO world! Thank you.

Not a service manager 2,500+ Posts Iowatech's Avatar

Re: RISO RP Drum locking issue

The drum drive coupling in the drum cavity of the machine is not at home position.

Arrow Re: RISO RP Drum locking issue

Quote Originally Posted by Iowatech View Post
    The drum drive coupling in the drum cavity of the machine is not at home position.
    What is the best way to go about resetting that? Is there anything I can do in test mode or is it something I can reset by hand?

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts 20gaugeO/U's Avatar

Remove drum and set it on a table. Look at the rear of the drum and you see the large metal slotted pin. Now look inside the machine at the back wall. There is a chuck that the pin goes into, I believe it should be pointing at 12 & 6 (???) whatever the the drum is looking like when locked into home position. Grab the chuck and turn it by hand until the 2 pieces mesh. You shouldn't have to turn much. It's trial and error.

If the machine has not been thrown out of time, you should be able to turn the drive key from inside the machine. If not then by moving the drive by hand in the back. Make sure the RISO is off and unplugged before doing either.
    Also make sure the drum is in the home and locked position before trying to insertion.
    Good luck.

Yeah what 20gauge said too!