Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Expected Wages/benefits?

I'm Currently a Pre-press Operator/Key-op on multiple digital Presses in a reputable Print company, and was recently approached by one of my service techs and offered a job as a service tech in the company he works for.

I've worked with this Tech for over a year now on my Canon ImagePress 7000, but also have two Konica 6501's and two Konica 1050e machines that I operate. Outside of copiers and Digital Presses, I have over 10 years as a pre-press operator, working on client files on both Mac and PC platorms.

I've done the 100 and 200K QA's on the ImagePress 7000 (I know these are very basic operations and most monkeys can be taught to do them), along with replacing Fuser webs, pulling and diagnosing pitted Drums, Pulling entire developer units, drums, wires, waste developer cleaning rollers, on the Imagepress.

One the Konicas, I've replaced, taken apart and refitted Drum Assemblies and cleanng blades, adusted skew correction, and pulled the fuser cleaning web.

Here's my Question. Given my background and limited service experiece what should I be expecting to be offered or holding out for with this job offer? An insight or suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

I wouldn't hold my breath. Copier techs do not make much money. Any extra money they do make is usually based upon bonuses or car allowance, if you play the game right. The base salary is usually low, but entice people with the thought of making big bucks with the bonus program....just what I've seen in my 15 yrs in the business.
    Michael Conway

Thanks for the reply. What you've said is pretty close to the impression I got so far. I wasn't told much about pay yet, but was told that the benefits are really good. Your comment was the first I'd heard of bonuses though.

I'm not looking to make a killing, just be able to support my family, and spend more time with them.