Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Designjet T2300

  1. #1
    Service Manager 250+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lutherville, MD
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    6

    Designjet T2300

    Just got a call in for a Designjet T2300 getting an 86:01. Never worked on a T2300 before. Any friendly hints or tricks beyond the normal (jammed in paper, belt) to look for?

    The description I got was: "Plotter reset itself and went through diagnostics test and giving message that it "found a failing part - error code 86:01"".

    Haven't looked at it yet.

    Thanks in advance!
    Lance


  2. #2
    Service Manager 250+ Posts


    Kiran Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    289
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Designjet T2300

    It's probably the belt.

    The T2300 is little odd with the scanner built into the top of it but it's just another T-series printer otherwise. If you've done a belt on a T610/T1100/etc.. you won't find any surprises.

    Kiran


  3. #3
    Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North Bend
    Posts
    901
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    27

    Re: Designjet T2300

    I've worked for days on 86:01. But then, sometimes you get lucky. Yesterday I had one where I walked in, properly closed the printhead latch, and it was ready to go.


  4. #4
    Service Manager 250+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lutherville, MD
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: Designjet T2300

    Turns out it was a super simple problem once I figured out how to open the "top cover". They were also saying it was telling them the scanner needs to be cleaned or something and it "resets" (whatever that means). I'm going to look at the user manual and see what it says about cleaning the scanner.

    Gunk on the encoder strip. Loads of 87:01 errors.


  5. #5
    Service Manager 250+ Posts


    Kiran Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    289
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Designjet T2300

    Hmm! But why was there gunk on the encoder strip??

    And I have to admit, the first time I stood in front of one, I couldn't find the latch to lift the scanner. I had to have the customer show me.

    Kiran


  6. #6
    Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North Bend
    Posts
    901
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    27

    Re: Designjet T2300

    the first time I stood in front of one, I couldn't find the latch to lift the scanner. I had to have the customer show me.
    Don't you love those moments?

    That got me thinking:

    The New-Age Tech


  7. #7
    Service Manager 250+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lutherville, MD
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: Designjet T2300

    Ugh.....

    Got a call back about the "rebooting" I mentioned.

    Noticed sporadic 79:04 errors in the log. On my reply back, I mentioned this could be caused by application/document/driver. Plotter has the latest firmware available. Do you think they would research that part of it???? Of course not! I have no responsibility whatsoever on the PC side.

    My question now is, is there anything PLOTTER-WISE that could sporadically cause 79:04's?


  8. #8
    Service Manager 250+ Posts


    Kiran Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    289
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    10

    Re: Designjet T2300

    There's a whole section in the service manual regarding 79:04. It's a generic firmware error and could be caused by a variety of things.

    If it's happening when they're printing, then it's job related.

    I've had a -lot- of issues with people using Adobe Reader to print PDFs (and not just lately. More like since the dawn of time.) If your user is printing PDFs have them try Foxit Reader instead. Other than that I would just follow the troubleshooting in the manual, but it's mostly a matter of trial and error to see what's causing the problem.

    Kiran


  9. #9
    Service Manager 250+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lutherville, MD
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: Designjet T2300

    Of course as expected, it's going to be an application/document/driver issue.

    Here's what's what......

    Someone (unknown process) scans architectural drawings and uploads them to some proprietary "storage/viewing/printing" system called DigialPaper. DigitalPaper is just a webapp with built in viewing & printing (not sure if they can edit anything). The PC that was having the issue yesterday has the GL/2 driver installed (model specific, not UPD). The user wasn't there, so, a user with administrative rights logged on (may or may not make a difference) and no problems! It printed two of these scans from this DigitalPaper system.

    I knew this wasn't going to be anything with the plotter. I wish people would read E-Mails, as I explained things THEY would have to look at! It's always a hardware problem........

    Sorry for the rant guys, it's frustrating.

    Probably won't be the last I hear about this.

    I printed the whole section on the 79:04 error and how to troubleshoot it and gave it to the contact today. Unfortunately, we can't magically appear onsite when an error happens. They now have something to look at and possibly track the problem down with.


  10. #10
    Service Manager 250+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lutherville, MD
    Posts
    270
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: Designjet T2300

    I knew I'd see this again. User complaining of the SAME issue. I'm giving them pricing for a new formatter and HDD as they are asking for. We are not able to troubleshoot application/document/content/driver issues. Hardware only. I'm overwhelmed, however.

    Should I give pricing for CN727-67044 - T2300 Formatter w/ HDD SV or CN727-67042 - T2300 Formatter w/o HDD SV and swap the HDD or CN727-67037 - Zelig SATA HDD w/ FW SV???

    What are the ramifications if both the formatter & HDD are replaced together?

    Thanks!!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Get the Android App
click or scan for the Copytechnet Mobile App

-=-=-=-=-=-


IDrive Remote Backup

Lunarpages Internet Solutions

Advertise on Copytechnet

Your Link Here