Service Manager 2,500+ Posts
    LJ 4250 ghosting

LJ 4250 ghosting

See sample. I had to remove some personal information but is was doing it through the whole page.

I replaced the fuser 2 weeks ago and it solved the issue. Now it's doing the same thing again.

Customer swapped the toner from another 4250 that is printing fine and still did it.

Customer is using aftermarket toner carts but printing fine from about 20 other LJ 4250's that are using the same aftermarket toners.

I guess the new fuser (OEM) could be defective but I find that hard to believe with a genuine HP fuser.

Could transfer roller cause this? I only replaced the fuser not complete maint kit.

Any other ideas appreciated?

Thanks in advance
    Attached Files Attached Files

LJ 4250 ghosting

Re: LJ 4250 ghosting

Yup. That's a fuser issue. Poor rotation of the sleeve.

I'm no HP expert, but I've worked on enough of them that I've seen it.
    Strange that it would happen with a new OEM unit? Are you positive that's the case?
    I've had this happen more than a few times with refurbished units from improper / insufficient grease.

Question: If they have a bunch of 4250's, and already swapped toner cartridges to test, why wouldn't you suggest they swap a fuser to prove it
    Last edited by sandmanmac; 03-07-2018 at 01:03 AM.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    LJ 4250 ghosting

Quote Originally Posted by sandmanmac View Post
    Yup. That's a fuser issue. Poor rotation of the sleeve.

I'm no HP expert, but I've worked on enough of them that I've seen it.
    Strange that it would happen with a new OEM unit? Are you positive that's the case?
    I've had this happen more a few times with refurbished units from improper / insufficient grease.

Question: If they have a bunch of 4250's, and already swapped toner cartridges to test, why wouldn't you suggest they swap a fuser to prove it
    Just that. =^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request: