Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts

I Believe my HP5000 is going in the dumpster

I hate to think it. It's been since 2003 that I got the machine to make my laserplates for my Hamada 700 printing press. It was used at that time. I really don't know how old it really is. But my print shop is gone after 31 years, and now I'm a realtor. Nobody needs print shops any more. The old HP could still be handy to me, but it just has too many problems. I could conceivably rebuild it and fix all its problems, but the death knell seems to be the plastic case--it literally falls to pieces that can't be glued. Just touching it makes something else break. Why did HP use such sorry plastic on such a good machine? It really breaks my heart to pick this thing up and go throw it in the dumpster. But I'm afraid its just too far gone.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: I Believe my HP5000 is going in the dumpster

You could pull some parts out of it and sell them on ebay, if you were so inclined. The printer is worth more in parts than it is as a working machine. But most of my customers who had them have finally gotten rid of them in the last couple years. Off the top of my head I can only think of about 2 left that are running.

And yes, the cover plastic deteriorates. I don't think HP intended the printer to last more than 7 years, so I consider it a testament to their quality.

Kiran

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

I liked these machines. It's just a LJ4000 that can print ledger. Most of the ones I serviced are gone now. =^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.
    3) if you're going to ask about jams include the jam code.
    4) if you're going to ask about an error code include the error code.
    5) You are the person onsite. Only you can make observations.

blackcat: Master Of The Obvious =^..^=