Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Service Manager 250+ Posts

Laserjet 4100TN - Noisy.

Toner has just been changed and now the printer is unusually noisy on startup and when printing. Any ideas as to what's gone wrong?

ALIEN OVERLORD 2,500+ Posts fixthecopier's Avatar
    Can you turn it up, I can not hear it from here. What kind of noise? Squeak , click, clack, grind?
    The greatest enemy of knowledge isn't ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge. Stephen Hawking

Quote Originally Posted by fixthecopier View Post
    Can you turn it up, I can not hear it from here. What kind of noise? Squeak , click, clack, grind?
    I'm not very good at describing noises. A friend said the noise is like a squeak or a whistle. It's only there when turning the printer on and printing.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts
    Laserjet 4100TN - Noisy.

Laserjet 4100TN - Noisy.

When you put the other cartridge back in, does the problem go away? You may have a defective cartridge.

Noises are the most difficult to troubleshoot, but squeaks and whistles are usually cartridge related, while thumps are p/u areas and fuser areas and grinding comes from gears and fuser areas. Try a known good cartridge from another machine not making the noise.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways - Coke in one hand - chocolate in the other - body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO-HOO, what a ride!".

If the noise started when you put in the 'New' toner cartridge, I would say it is the toner cartridge.

Quote Originally Posted by kuby View Post
    If the noise started when you put in the 'New' toner cartridge, I would say it is the toner cartridge.
    Ok. So is it bad for the machine to use the cartridge (if it is the problem) or can I get away with continuing to use the cartridge?

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts
    Laserjet 4100TN - Noisy.