Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts

hp 8000 too old??

I have an HP 8000, 11 years old with over 600K on it. It is a billable account. What is the life expectancy of these units? Should I recomend upgrade?
    I am a ricoh tech and have very limited experience on HPs.
    Thanks for any info in advance.

ALIEN OVERLORD 2,500+ Posts fixthecopier's Avatar
    The machine was made to do that many prints every couple of months. Parts are still available. Easy to work on. In my area, I keep them going. Part of the base payroll used to be printed on 3 of these, 17,500 pages every 2 weeks. Ran for years like that.
    The greatest enemy of knowledge isn't ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge. Stephen Hawking

Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Thanks for the feed back. I got blindsided with this one on Friday. Never worked on one before in my life. It is constant jamming from the 2000 sheet cassett at the feed sep roller before it gets to the vertical transport. I put new rollers in but it is still having the same problem. I ordered the vertical feed assembly and the pickup assembly. I hope I'm on the right track. What do you think? That whole unit looks like someone got rough with it, but the customer said no one else has ever worked on it.

ALIEN OVERLORD 2,500+ Posts fixthecopier's Avatar
    The most common repair I did to this was the paper input assembly. The symptom would be jamming from tray 3 , so the customer would have tray 3 popped open with a do not use note on it. The input assembly is everything to do with paper feed from tray 2 and 3. It is all built with all new rollers and clutches. I can't remember the number but you can find it as "paper input assembly". If see does not see this post and respond, you should ask "prntrfxr". She is an HP person.
    The greatest enemy of knowledge isn't ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge. Stephen Hawking

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    hp 8000 too old??