Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: DesignJet 130

Service Manager 2,500+ Posts
    DesignJet 130

DesignJet 130

I'm a laserjet tech and don't know this machine that well but a good customer ask me to service it.

Machine was offline and not powered on for about a year. It is printing ONLY Cyan when printing report after powering on. The cyan has lines and very faint. I tried to print windows test page and it came out blank. Panel indicating all inks are full and no blinking printheads or errors. Sounds & feels like the inks are full.

Are there any tubes or anything else that could be dried out or clogged? How do you clean and start-up a printer like this?

Also sometimes when first powering on there is a loud grinding noise after the carriage is parked all the way to the left. I don't think this is related but figured I would mention it.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Service Manager 250+ Posts

Re: DesignJet 130

Remove the printheads and soak the nozzles in warm water for about 10 to 15 mins.
    If this does not work replace the printheads.

Rob S

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts
    DesignJet 130

This Parts & Service manual can be purchased for $12.77 and downloaded immediately after payment from

http://www.justmanuals.com

Paul@justmanuals.com

The printheads are clogged... ink dried up on the exit of the injectors.
    Just like it was said before warm water is a good idea, windex works alright too so i heard... soak a paper tower and just let the printhead lay vertical on it.
    If you dont service inkjets a whole lot do that... then run a cleaning cicle... if it doesnt work just replace the printheads.
    If you service lots of inkjet's i recommend you to get an ultrasonic machine nothing better to get clogged printheads back into shape... a lil tap water... 2 or 3 mins and its alive again