Nazgul69

HP CM3530MFP 54.09 error in event log

Hi,

Has anyone had this fault in the event log of CM3530MFP.
    54.09 Drum phase sensor out of range
    Have tried cleaning sensors, changing drums, ITB and numerous calibrations. Printer works fine, but code displays intermittently.
    Service manager says to ignore, but i'm an engineer, so would like to investigate.
    Last edited by Nazgul69; 08-31-2011 at 09:52 AM.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

Re: HP CM3530MFP 54.09 error in event log

Ignoring a problem rarely ever solves the issue. The service manual does not have this error in it and it's a relatively new printer, so unless someone has had this issue before, you're in new territory. In other HP color machines 54.09 error indicates a problem with the cyan home position sensor.

During calibration all the colors are aligned and drives are timed so that each color layers on top of each other in the same place. Failure in lining up the colors, results in blurry prints or color misalignment. The home position sensor failure would mean the printer may not see the position of the cyan drum to align it during calibration. Normally, I would tell you to calibrate the printer 3 times.

However, after examining the Theory section of the service manual, it appears that there is only 1 home position sensor (which makes no sense, but I'm not an engineer) and the printer calibrates itself.

In my opinion, 90% of color laser issues are related to the presence of toner or paper debris in a place it is not supposed to be. Therefore, begin by removing all the cartridges, fuser, and paper tray. Then, blow out the printer with compressed air. See if that resolves your issue.