TASKalfa 3051ci print quality

I know this is a complete noob question, but what would be the first steps in troubleshooting a print quality issue on one of these machines? The little bit of research I've done points towards the drum for the affected color (black), but I wanted to make sure that was the right direction before beginning. I assume cleaning the drum is a possibility? Any help, links to a service manual, or any other guidance is greatly appreciated.

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

Re: TASKalfa 3051ci print quality

Standard CQ service call for me:

1. Clean the machine.(don't skip)
    2. sytem menu-maint: run drum refresh, dev refresh, laser cleaning, calibration, color registration, calibration, toner curve adj. (in this order)
    3. from maint mode run sim 089 and print a sample set.
    4. Use repetitive defect guide to determine as much info as possible as well as experience with the machine to determine fault.

Sometimes what looks like a drum issue will turn out to be dev and vice versa.
    Is the issue on a single color or all colors? Now we can eliminate some parts as the cause.
    Is the issue missed toner coverage or excess toner coverage?

Thanks for the quick response Darry. I'm not a seasoned copier guy, so bare with me on asking a couple of questions to your points:

1) I assume you mean just a general cleaning with a vaccum?
    2) Is this one of those hidden service menus that has to be initiated with a magic keystroke?
    3) More or less the same as #2. I understand the process you're describing, just not sure how to complete it.
    4) See #2 & #3

I would say the issue is missed toner. Light printing with visual distortion in some areas of the page. This is only on black afaik.

Quote Originally Posted by ncitguy View Post
    Thanks for the quick response Darry. I'm not a seasoned copier guy, so bare with me on asking a couple of questions to your points: