Awesome Sauce 250+ Posts User Name's Avatar

Taskalfa 4500i send error 2202

So, at this machine location they're using a relay server which then passes the info on to their email server. The copier is sending all the info to the relay server and then gives the 2202 error for some reason. The relay server knows the copier errors out and sends the email through despite this. So, I'm not quite sure what's at fault here. The IT guys for this customer are certain it has nothing to do with the relay server because they have several other things using it without any issues. I don't know if the relay server isn't sending the right responses to the copier and that's why it's coding out or if there's a setting in the machine that could resolve this.

I'm not very experienced in the emailing side of things as far as copiers are concerned so I'm not really sure what to do. Any thoughts about what could be causing this? Any advice is appreciated.
    Just because you're not paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you.
    O.o

WARNING: My profile page can cause blindness in small children and old copier techs. View at your own risk.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts
    Taskalfa 4500i send error 2202

Re: Taskalfa 4500i send error 2202

2202 is a server timeout error.

1) You might try increasing the timeout value in the SMTP settings screen.
    2) You might also try entering the SMTP IP address rather than the hostname. When the hostname must be looked up by DNS, it adds time to the transaction. Using the IP, means that the DNS does not need to be referenced, and is just a teeny bit faster.

=^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.
    3) if you're going to ask about jams include the jam code.
    4) if you're going to ask about an error code include the error code.
    5) You are the person onsite. Only you can make observations.