Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    hannes360

Exclamation dp-1820 ADD PAPER error

hi

im struggling with a ADD PAPER issue on my machine,paper is added but error remains.i studied some treads but not sure how to reset stuff,some say reset ram and fuser with f9 stuff,but if i press function,there is only 2 options,copier settings and general settings.the paperlift motor doesnt ever turn end i swap the paper sensor.i did 2 copies and had a paper jam,removed the paper and ADD paper thing started!!! please help!!

Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

Re: dp-1820 ADD PAPER error

Have you try print from the bypass? (this will pin point the problem to the tray)
    --u can test it by pulling out the paper tray, restart machine, load paper on bypass, then try to make a copy using bypass.

If it still jams, u need to look at other part of the machine

If it doesn't jam, you can look at the tray now. The most common problem with these machines is the lift motor assembly. The assembly case is made by plastic which is very fragile, especially those embedded bushings(gear holders) cracks ALL the time. But before you replace parts, try to go to Service mode F4 -> Check output -> 64. ->>>>This will turn the lift motor in ascending direction. (NOTE: if you r not familiar with the machine, take the back cover out and the lift motor assembly is the black plastic box at the bottom of the machine beside the power connector. When you do the test, put ur ear close (but not touching) to the assembly and see if you hear gear turn). IF you hear clicking noise, this means that the casings is probably cracked, and needs to be replace.

hannes360

Thumbs up Re: dp-1820 ADD PAPER error

thanx a lot!!!!

i tried everything u said,but i dont know how to access service mode,there is only 2 modes when i press function,hruggle withow do i access the other? thats the only thing i struggle with.

i appreiciate the good response!!

Technician 500+ Posts