Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Legendary Frost Spec Tech 2,500+ Posts
    To our dear engineer friends

As a tech, I've come to realize that an engineer's job is to save the consumer minutes of frustration at the cost of years of the technician's life.
    In conclusion, engineers are voodoo wizards employed by Satan himself.
    Cthulhu for president! Why settle for the lesser evil?

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts roho's Avatar

Re: To our dear engineer friends

I curse engineers, not just with office equipment, but consumer goods as well. I've recently had a toaster with a countdown display, which never did make even toast, not too mention how "smart" everything now is. These clowns only see from the design process, never the confusion to the end user, and despite the new "smart" technology, many things don't work as well, or last long at all anymore. My most recent cell phone can automatically post pics on the web, but the phone quality is not much better then years ago. Engineers and marketers are the spawn of the devil himself, disguised as the latest product we must get our hands on, this is progress?

I'd love to see an engineer troubleshoot a real life problem, not just based on theory.

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts gwaddle's Avatar

Seriously, they shouldn't be allowed to design anything until they have spent 6 months or so working in the field on the machines they are going to design. I'm not talking about a nice clean shop either. I mean where they have to drive 100 miles to get to a machine that's used in a welding shop.
    I know I should be ashamed of myself. Strangely though, I am not.

worker drone 250+ Posts