Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Why do you guys hate us so much?

First of all, let me just say that I worked as a copier technician for 13 years and now I work in IT (although I still work on printers and MFPs as part of my job). I used to deal with IT as a copier technician on a regular basis, doing network installs and such. I've been reading some of these threads regarding your views on IT people and I just have to shake my head. I'm referring in particular to the IT vs. Tonerheads thread. Now, I've experienced both sides and I have no idea why so guys seem to loathe IT people so much. You guys have said things like "90% of IT guys have no idea what they are doing" and "The vast majority of IT people are idiots". Believe me, I have dealt with my share of idiotic and arrogant IT people as a copier tech. But there is no way that the "vast majority" of the IT people I dealt with over the 13 years I worked in the copier industry are as incompetent as you guys try to make them out to be. It's kinda funny actually, because a fairly decent percentage of copier technicians (especially techs that do network installs) end up going into IT. Why would you guys go into IT (or want to go into IT) if you hate IT people so much? That's like Daniel Carver trying to join the NAACP. I don't know, maybe I just don't understand your guys' logic because now that I'm in IT my IQ has automatically dropped 40 points. It couldn't be jealousy fueling all those hateful statements, could it? Nah...

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

I don't think it's anything personal CB. I too have had a few IT guys tell me "It couldn't possibly be my network...". That's why everything works perfectly to my laptop.

Or the service call, "I can't ping the scanner NIC." and the cable is laying on the floor next to the switch, unconnected.