Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Service Manager 250+ Posts unisys12's Avatar

What Car Would You Buy for Less Than 100K?

I was thinking about this today, like I do most days, and wondered what everyone else here would suggest.

So here's the set up... Either someone gives you any car or truck you want or money is no object, but it has to less than 100k and can be used for normal day to day use. That included work and family functions!

I am a car fan and an even larger Top Gear fab! I worked as a mechanic for the first 10 yrs out of HS and work on everything from Ford F100's to BMW 750iL's. There are cars and trucks I see everyday that I "want" and "would love to have". There's even a few that I see everyday that I might actually need. I just love cars, so the choices are really, really hard! Being a family guy though, I have to try and keep things in perspective and that can be the hardest part. Sure, I would love to have a Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren, but... taking my daughter to theater practice in this is just a little over kill. Not to mention showing up at a service call.

But a MazdaSpeed6 Grand Touring would be more like it!!

MazdaSpeed6GT.jpg

Although make it black please!

Why this car over all the others? Well I'm very familiar with the platform. Give a gander at my photo album and you will find that I'm a big fan of Ford Contour/Mondeo. Sad that car did not survive over here. Anyway! The Mazda 6 family took over were the Ford Contour left off. First year or so, it had the same enigne and subframe. Different trannies, which was a good thing. Actually, the trannies were the weakest link in the pre 2001 Mondeo family. The Auto (CD4E) and Manual (MTX-75) were plagued with all sorts of problems! The Mazda 6 fixed all that!