Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Self Employed 1,000+ Posts D_L_P's Avatar

Red face How much money do you make?

I look online at places like job.com, salary.com, etc..and see the AVERAGE wage is like $40k per year. Some even higher.

I live in a very rural area but still don't make that. I've been doing this for 15 years and trained on 50cpm Color and the ir150, 6weeks school for that one (never understood why u'd make more for that but w/e).

I currently make $17.64/hr ~ $36k per year.

How much do you make?

grumpy old git 500+ Posts banginbishop's Avatar
    simple, not enough

Geek Extraordinaire 2,500+ Posts KenB's Avatar
    I know that at my dealership that once you hit what seems to be a magical number of about $40k/year, raises seem to be harder and harder to get anything above 1 to 2% annually. Fortunately, we're all hourly, so if the call load is high enough (and it frequently is), overtime is fairly common.

It seems that more dealers are pushing a form of commission: bonuses paid for leads on contracts, supplies, etc... and print studies done at larger dealerships who are getting on the MPS bandwagon.

Looks as though more and more dealers are trying to get more sales through techs. After all, we're the ones the customers see every day, and have (hopefully) good relationships with.
    “I think you should treat good friends like a fine wine. That’s why I keep mine locked up in the basement.” - Tim Hawkins

Service Manager 250+ Posts
    Money?

Rob S

Senior Tech 100+ Posts Si@danwood's Avatar
    Shed loads!!! But contray to my nic i aint at Danwood anymore

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts gwaddle's Avatar
    We're supposed to get paid? I'll have to look into that.

Copier Ninja 100+ Posts KEVIN900's Avatar