Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    ragajungle

I would like to meet a Canon Engineer and kick him/her in the beard.

As a baby technician I was schooled on Ricoh(Lanier/Savin) and Oce MFP's. DF Feed belts, Rollers, etc... Then on to Fusers, okay...., even a registration assy on a Rico1075, at the time I thought it was the worst thing in the world. As the years went by I gained an appreciation for the above said. Yes, toner is messy, but troubleshooting and maintenance was a cinch. Even big problems like a failed controller or a bad power supply was easy.

But then I was kicked in the teeth and sent to Canon training...kicking and screaming...but strangely intrigued by the, so called, Cadillac of Machines.

And what I discovered was that if Cadillac had adopted Canon's build/product quality and engineering methods they would still be shlepping Cimmerons... You remember those right? The $30K 'Lac Cavalier.

Since 2006 I have been regularly working on these machines along side Ricoh and Kyocera and everything else IKON pushed. I dealt with the irc6800, c3100 which I thought were utter disasters. Then the flimsy cacophony called the S1 internal finisher and then the t1-t2 finishers and there WACK staple ribbon cable/swing guide/rediculous firmware updating procedure, having to do clutch-ectomies on seg4's was common place at a million clicks.