Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Trusted Tech 50+ Posts C.Vallon's Avatar

newbie training advice?

Hi guys, so as I've mentioned in my first intro post, I'm new to the career field. I've completed a few of the online courses while waiting for my actual tier 2 instruction. What I am wondering is if there is any other recommended training you'd advise that I can take to help bring me up to speed? Below is a list of the current completed online courses I've done with the Ricoh Learning Institution

Digital Color Basics ( Self Paced )
    Digital Color Technology Equivalency
    Technology Essentials Tier 1 Equivalency
    Technology Essentials Tier 1
    Ricoh Fundamentals of Ricoh Websites Training Module
    Ricoh Fundamentals of the MFP Training Module

Thanks in advance, I'm trying to learn as much as possible as quickly as I can. Like any new career field, it seems a bit daunting at first, though I do relatively enjoy the challenges.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts subaro's Avatar

Re: newbie training advice?

Nice, you are one your way and good stuff you have done to get started.
    First, i should say, in this business the learning curve is how much time you are willing to spend in independent learning. What i mean is, tutuors will teach you procedures, but won't babysit as new techs seems to want. you have to be inquisitive about how things work and learn their function. e.g clutch and one-way bearings. You, must also understand basic electricty and how to use a multimeter and soldering station. Those are time you will have to spend independently to acquire the skill set.
    It is very important to observe the precautions that is stated in the manuals, machines and other places.
    There are many others i can mention, like tools ect.