Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts AyJayAreDii's Avatar

Advice on training a trainee

Hi guys,

I have been tasked with taking out a young trainee, I have never done this before and was wondering if any of you have done so. I have a young lad out of school who has no techical experiences either from collage or hobbies, (I know we all have to start somewhere) who I have to take around customers and "show him the ropes"

The problem is that he has almost no experience with tools, he is passing the theory off as too hard before he has even tried to think about it, he is not very inquisitive and he looks board most of the time. our workshop/HQ is too far for him to travel to, and I don't get much quite time to sit with him and talk as I am a walker in London.

I want to get him involved so he doesn't lose interest, but anything I try and show him seems to intense for him at the moment. I have asked for an old machine from the workshop to be brought down to our local sales office so I can take out all the units in order for him and go though the processes., but still waiting on that. And no word on a course just yet for him but they said that they are going to.

Any advice anyone? Or if anyone has any useful documents for training that would be great.

worker drone 250+ Posts

Re: Advice on training a trainee

First off, it sounds like you are starting with the wrong guy. That being said, the work ethic of today's youth leaves much to be desired. The entitlement generation...Find out what his interests are and then try and relate that to the copy process. You have to get him to absorb the theory. That is the only way they will be able to think for themselves. The practical experience can follow that. The sad truth is, about the time you make something useful out of them, someone else will take advantage of your efforts and pay them a little more to steal them away.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts