Thanks Thanks:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Trusted Tech 50+ Posts

Any one here have experience with Reflections for HP software?

Got a new customer with a Ricoh MP 5045 and they want to print from this software to the Ricoh. I have no experience with this software but it seems you have to add some kind of code to the software (in this case 198) and this tells the current job to print to that Ricoh. So when the customer is filling out the orders they enter a code Print=(number) and that number is assigned to a printer. I personally don't see this as a copier issue it seems more on the software level but customer is adamant it's the Ricoh because their Kyocera's work fine.

Not a service manager 2,500+ Posts Iowatech's Avatar

Re: Any one here have experience with Reflections for HP software?

This is just a guess, but if a PCL driver can be used, I'd think that should probably work. HP came up with PCL after all.

Geek Extraordinaire 2,500+ Posts KenB's Avatar

I may be way out of line here, but it sounds like somebody is being lazy.

AFAIK, it's up to the software author (not necessarily the vendor) to work with the MFP and printer manufacturers and determine what settings need to happen on the device. Most of them publish a supported device list, listing requirements such as Java version, HDD requirements, and even optional memory if needed.

Sometimes they even go as far as telling you how to access user tools and SP mode, but not usually.

If they want to advertise their software as working with different brands, they need to supply the necessary info to make it work.

I work with a bunch of third party enablers, and I can't think of any that don't pave the way to make it all work.

Just because it works OK with one brand, possibly out of the box, the burden is not yours to make it fly with the brand you are working on.
    “I think you should treat good friends like a fine wine. That’s why I keep mine locked up in the basement.” - Tim Hawkins