Thread: Ricoh MP4002

Technician

Ricoh MP4002

Hi everyone, so here's my first post. I've been an independent Ricoh tech for 2 years but have been in the industry for 12 years. Im glad to have joined and i get a lot of great tips from here.
    I have a Ricoh MP4002 that automatically wants to format the HDD as if i just replaced it. and its driving me crazy as i have never seen this happen. So far I've replaced the following,

1. HDD and updated Firmware
    2. Satie PCB with Cables and another HDD
    3. today i swapped the controller with a parts MP4002 including the NVram.

Any Idea whats causing this?

Vic

It's not easy being green 1,000+ Posts Cipher's Avatar

Lightbulb Re: Ricoh MP4002

Off the top of my head.

Maybe a incompatible HDD.
    The genuine part was a Western Digital 160Gb, so I wouldn't use anything larger than 500Gb.

Maybe a security feature like DOS or HDD encryption is enabled.
    • Knowledge not shared, is eventually knowledge that becomes lost... like tears in the rain.

Fully qualified technician for Ricoh - Canon - Sharp - HP - Brother

Retired 10,000+ Posts
    Ricoh MP4002

Re: Ricoh MP4002

Possibly an incompatible drive partitioning, MBR or low level format. Maybe testing the drive with a utility such as SpinRite or Minitool Partition Wizard.
    Home of Gibson Research Corporation
    MiniTool Partition Wizard | Best partition magic alternative for Windows PC and Server

Partition Wizard can also be used to resize USB drives when you need something smaller for firmware.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts DRichard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by vickter200 View Post
    Hi everyone, so here's my first post. I've been an independent Ricoh tech for 2 years but have been in the industry for 12 years. Im glad to have joined and i get a lot of great tips from here.