Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Replacing Hard Drive in Ricoh 6501- Need Software Reload or PNP with Initialize?

Replacing Hard Drive in Ricoh 6501- Need Software Reload or PNP with Initialize?

I'm a Xerox Tech so my Ricoh experience is limited. Need to prep a machine for lease return that needs the Hard Drives replaced., Are these pretty much PNP with initialization like most machines? Or, do these need actual software reloaded onto the drive? Thanks in advance for your help, much appreciated.

Ricoh 6501 copiers - Replace HD for Lease Return.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts

Re: Replacing Hard Drive in Ricoh 6501- Need Software Reload or PNP with Initialize?

Nothing special. Replace with same size and type.

Retired 10,000+ Posts

Re: Replacing Hard Drive in Ricoh 6501- Need Software Reload or PNP with Initialize?

The HDD assembly consists of 2 160 GB drives mounted in a bracket. Both drives have to be replaced together. Hopefully the machine still has the mount bracket as I don't know it can be ordered separately. Use SP 5832-001 to format.

Senior Tech 2,500+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by slimslob View Post
    The HDD assembly consists of 2 160 GB drives mounted in a bracket. Both drives have to be replaced together. Hopefully the machine still has the mount bracket as I don't know it can be ordered separately. Use SP 5832-001 to format.
    And make sure both drives are exactly the same.
    NEVER ASSUME ANYTHING

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by chrisban35 View Post
    I'm a Xerox Tech so my Ricoh experience is limited. Need to prep a machine for lease return that needs the Hard Drives replaced., Are these pretty much PNP with initialization like most machines? Or, do these need actual software reloaded onto the drive? Thanks in advance for your help, much appreciated.

Ricoh 6501 copiers - Replace HD for Lease Return.